New beetle species named after ‘Game of Thrones’ characters


Regretfully, Game of Thrones isn’t returning till April 2019, however if you’re in the state of mind for some program- related news to hold you over, we’ve got you covered.

Brett Ratcliffe, a University of Nebraska entomologist and teacher, chose to name three of his 8 freshly discovered beetle species after Game of Thrones characters. How enjoyable!

According to The Omaha World-Herald, Ratcliffe named the 3 species of beetles– each from the Gymnetis genus– after Daenerys Targaryen’s three dragons: Drogon, Rhaegal, and Viserion.

The official types names are Drogoni, Rhaegali and Viserioni, the Latin variations of characters’ names.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar